2022 ICD-10-CM Code D68

Other coagulation defects

Version 2021

Not Valid for Submission

Short Description:Other coagulation defects
Long Description:Other coagulation defects

Code Classification

  • Diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs and certain disorders involving the immune mechanism (D50–D89)
    • Coagulation defects, purpura and other hemorrhagic conditions (D65-D69)
      • Other coagulation defects (D68)

D68 is a non-specific and non-billable diagnosis code code, consider using a code with a higher level of specificity for a diagnosis of other coagulation defects. The code is not specific and is NOT valid for the year 2022 for the submission of HIPAA-covered transactions. Category or Header define the heading of a category of codes that may be further subdivided by the use of 4th, 5th, 6th or 7th characters.

Specific Coding for Other coagulation defects

Non-specific codes like D68 require more digits to indicate the appropriate level of specificity. Consider using any of the following ICD-10 codes with a higher level of specificity when coding for other coagulation defects:

  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.0 for Von Willebrand's disease
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.1 for Hereditary factor XI deficiency
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.2 for Hereditary deficiency of other clotting factors
  • NON-BILLABLE CODE - D68.3 for Hemorrhagic disorder due to circulating anticoagulants
  • NON-BILLABLE CODE - D68.31 for Hemorrhagic disorder due to intrinsic circulating anticoagulants, antibodies, or inhibitors
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.32 for Hemorrhagic disorder due to extrinsic circulating anticoagulants
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.4 for Acquired coagulation factor deficiency
  • NON-BILLABLE CODE - D68.5 for Primary thrombophilia
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.51 for Activated protein C resistance
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.52 for Prothrombin gene mutation
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.59 for Other primary thrombophilia
  • NON-BILLABLE CODE - D68.6 for Other thrombophilia
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.61 for Antiphospholipid syndrome
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.62 for Lupus anticoagulant syndrome
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.69 for Other thrombophilia
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.8 for Other specified coagulation defects
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use D68.9 for Coagulation defect, unspecified

Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries

The Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is a list of ICD-10 codes, organized "head to toe" into chapters and sections with coding notes and guidance for inclusions, exclusions, descriptions and more. The following references are applicable to the code D68:

Type 1 Excludes

Type 1 Excludes
A type 1 excludes note is a pure excludes note. It means "NOT CODED HERE!" An Excludes1 note indicates that the code excluded should never be used at the same time as the code above the Excludes1 note. An Excludes1 is used when two conditions cannot occur together, such as a congenital form versus an acquired form of the same condition.

Information for Patients

Bleeding Disorders

Normally, if you get hurt, your body forms a blood clot to stop the bleeding. For blood to clot, your body needs cells called platelets and proteins known as clotting factors. If you have a bleeding disorder, you either do not have enough platelets or clotting factors or they don't work the way they should.

Bleeding disorders can be the result of other diseases, such as severe liver disease or a lack of vitamin K. They can also be inherited. Hemophilia is an inherited bleeding disorder. Bleeding disorders can also be a side effect of medicines such as blood thinners.

Various blood tests can check for a bleeding disorder. You will also have a physical exam and history. Treatments depend on the cause. They may include medicines and transfusions of blood, platelets, or clotting factor.

[Learn More in MedlinePlus]

Code History

  • FY 2021 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2020 through 9/30/2021
  • FY 2020 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2019 through 9/30/2020
  • FY 2019 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2018 through 9/30/2019
  • FY 2018 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2017 through 9/30/2018
  • FY 2017 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2016 through 9/30/2017
  • FY 2016 - New Code, effective from 10/1/2015 through 9/30/2016 (First year ICD-10-CM implemented into the HIPAA code set)