2021 ICD-10-CM Code H55.0


Version 2021

Not Valid for Submission

H55.0 is a non-specific and non-billable diagnosis code code, consider using a code with a higher level of specificity for a diagnosis of nystagmus. The code is not specific and is NOT valid for the year 2021 for the submission of HIPAA-covered transactions. Category or Header define the heading of a category of codes that may be further subdivided by the use of 4th, 5th, 6th or 7th characters.

Short Description:Nystagmus
Long Description:Nystagmus

Code Classification

Specific Coding for Nystagmus

Non-specific codes like H55.0 require more digits to indicate the appropriate level of specificity. Consider using any of the following ICD-10 codes with a higher level of specificity when coding for nystagmus:

  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.00 for Unspecified nystagmus
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.01 for Congenital nystagmus
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.02 for Latent nystagmus
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.03 for Visual deprivation nystagmus
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.04 for Dissociated nystagmus
  • BILLABLE CODE - Use H55.09 for Other forms of nystagmus

Clinical Information

Information for Patients

Eye Movement Disorders

When you look at an object, you're using several muscles to move both eyes to focus on it. If you have a problem with the muscles, the eyes don't work properly.

There are many kinds of eye movement disorders. Two common ones are

Some eye movement disorders are present at birth. Others develop over time and may be associated with other problems, such as injuries. Treatments include glasses, patches, eye muscle exercises, and surgery. There is no cure for some kinds of eye movement disorders, such as most kinds of nystagmus.

[Learn More in MedlinePlus]

Code History

  • FY 2021 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2020 through 9/30/2021
  • FY 2020 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2019 through 9/30/2020
  • FY 2019 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2018 through 9/30/2019
  • FY 2018 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2017 through 9/30/2018
  • FY 2017 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2016 through 9/30/2017
  • FY 2016 - New Code, effective from 10/1/2015 through 9/30/2016 (First year ICD-10-CM implemented into the HIPAA code set)