ICD-10-CM Code H35.3110

Nonexudative age-related macular degeneration, right eye, stage unspecified

Version 2020 Billable Code Adult Diagnoses

Valid for Submission

H35.3110 is a billable code used to specify a medical diagnosis of nonexudative age-related macular degeneration, right eye, stage unspecified. The code is valid for the year 2020 for the submission of HIPAA-covered transactions. The ICD-10-CM code H35.3110 might also be used to specify conditions or terms like age-related nonexudative macular degeneration of right eye or degenerative disorder of macula of right eye or nonexudative age-related macular degeneration.

The code H35.3110 is applicable to adult patients aged 15 through 124 years inclusive. It is clinically and virtually impossible to use this code on a patient outside the stated age range.

Short Description:Nexdtve age-related mclr degn, right eye, stage unspecified
Long Description:Nonexudative age-related macular degeneration, right eye, stage unspecified

Code Edits

The Medicare Code Editor (MCE) detects and reports errors in the coding of claims data. The following ICD-10 Code Edits are applicable to this code:

  • Adult diagnoses - Adult. Age range is 15–124 years inclusive (e.g., senile delirium, mature cataract).


The following clinical terms are approximate synonyms or lay terms that might be used to identify the correct diagnosis code:

  • Age-related nonexudative macular degeneration of right eye
  • Degenerative disorder of macula of right eye
  • Nonexudative age-related macular degeneration

Diagnostic Related Groups

The ICD-10 code H35.3110 is grouped in the following groups for version MS-DRG V37.0 What are Diagnostic Related Groups?
The Diagnostic Related Groups (DRGs) are a patient classification scheme which provides a means of relating the type of patients a hospital treats. The DRGs divides all possible principal diagnoses into mutually exclusive principal diagnosis areas referred to as Major Diagnostic Categories (MDC).
applicable from 10/01/2019 through 09/30/2020.


Replacement Code

H353110 replaces the following previously assigned ICD-10 code(s):

  • H35.31 - Nonexudative age-related macular degeneration

Convert H35.3110 to ICD-9

  • 362.51 - Nonexudat macular degen (Approximate Flag)

Code Classification

  • Diseases of the eye and adnexa (H00–H59)
    • Disorders of choroid and retina (H30-H36)
      • Other retinal disorders (H35)

Code History

  • FY 2018 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2017 through 9/30/2018
  • FY 2019 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2018 through 9/30/2019
  • FY 2020 - No Change, effective from 10/1/2019 through 9/30/2020

Information for Patients

Macular Degeneration

Macular degeneration, or age-related macular degeneration (AMD), is a leading cause of vision loss in Americans 60 and older. It is a disease that destroys your sharp, central vision. You need central vision to see objects clearly and to do tasks such as reading and driving.

AMD affects the macula, the part of the eye that allows you to see fine detail. It does not hurt, but it causes cells in the macula to die. There are two types: wet and dry. Wet AMD happens when abnormal blood vessels grow under the macula. These new blood vessels often leak blood and fluid. Wet AMD damages the macula quickly. Blurred vision is a common early symptom. Dry AMD happens when the light-sensitive cells in the macula slowly break down. Your gradually lose your central vision. A common early symptom is that straight lines appear crooked.

Regular comprehensive eye exams can detect macular degeneration before the disease causes vision loss. Treatment can slow vision loss. It does not restore vision.

NIH: National Eye Institute

[Learn More]